For people who are still living in a cave, Twitter is a social networking and micro-blogging service that enables its users to send and read messages known as tweets. Tweets are text-based posts of up to 140 characters displayed on the author’s profile page and delivered to the author’s subscribers who are known as followers. Since its creation in 2006 by Jack Dorsey, Twitter has gained notability and popularity worldwide (Wikipedia, 2010).

According to Dan Zarrella of copyblogger.com states that Twitter is changing the way information spreads online. Links and information that would have been blogged a couple of years ago are now more often shared via the micro-blogging service instead, which changes strategy when trying to get the content to spread. Even mega pop stars like Justin Bieber and Lady GaGa are using Twitter to inform their fans about any new songs, videos or CDs they are releasing. An article in The New York Times states that due to Twitter’s rapid growth, it became¬† the object of intense interest and also a fair amount of ridicule, as it was derided as high-tech trivia or the latest in time-wasting devices. But it’s use in Iran in the wake of the disputed presidential election of June 2009 to organize protests and disseminate information in the face of a news media crackdown brought it new respect.

In my own opinion, I believe that the usage of Twitter is still in it’s experimenting stages and as time goes by, it will become a very efficient tool for communication.¬† I have a Twitter account and I will get my friends to follow my tweets so that I can inform them of any new movies or games to buy. Is it useful ? Yes and No. Yes because I can save on my phone bills by tweeting and no, because it will take me some time to get my less tech savvy friends to join in. But with Twitter now having joint projects with mobile phones, I believe that not too long into the future, most of us will be tweeting away.

Do you tweet ? And how do you find it ? Leave any comments in the comment box and let me know.

Reference:
Zarrella D 2010, ‘5 Steps to Going Viral on Twitter, copyblogger’, viewed on 18 June 2010 http://www.copyblogger.com/go-viral-on-twitter/
Wikipedia 2010, ‘Twitter’, viewed on 18 June 2010 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twitter
News article: Twitter News
Image source : http://twitter.com/